Monday, 7 March 2011

Ideas towards a Structure of the Tao Te Ching

A Subdivision of Lao-Tzu's
Tao Te Ching into 27 Parts

The Unnameable Dao (1-3)
Emptiness (4-7)
Suppleness (8-10)
Openness (11-13)
Formlessness (14-16)
Genuineness (17-19)
Inner Stillness (20-21, 24)
Wholeness (22-23, 25)
Rootedness (26-28)
Peacefulness (29-31)
Innateness (31-34)
Mildness (35-37)
Simpleness (38-39, 41)
Reversion (40)

Wordlessness (42-44)
Stillness (45-47)
Harmlessness (48-50)
Straightness (51-53)
Virtuousness (54-56)
Sparingness (57-59)
Forgiveness (60-62)
Mindfulness (63-65)
Humility (66, 80-81)
Reserve (67-69)
Wisdom (70-72)
Softness (73-76)
Gentleness (77-79)

This then is a playlist of the complete reading of a compressed-haiku version of the Tao Te Ching (Daodejin) by Lao-Tzu (Laozi). The order follows that of the over two-thousand year old Ma-wang-tui version of the text which was discovered in 1973.

The spirit of Dao of these verses is illustrated by the paintings of Jia Lu and accompanied by the gayageum-playing of Choi Jin.  

And it is read by me. Enjoy!

Acknowledgments to books by Henricks and Lin Yutang especially, inspiration from Lee to begin with, an insight of Tamara, and Fangyu and Jue for a comment or two along the Way.

1 comment: