Thursday, 8 December 2016

Seven Factors of Enlightenment

Used in the East as a medicine since the time of the Buddha, this video is the healing chant of the seven factors of enlightenment:

These seven are:

Mindfulness (sati)

Investigation (dhamma vicaya)

Energy (viriya)

Joy (piti)

Tranquilization (passaddhi)

Concentration (samadhi) calm one-pointed abiding of mind

Equanimity (upekkha) the fourth immeasurable and culmination of loving-kindness, compassion and joy in the joy of others.

In the Samyutta Nikaya's "Fire Discourse," the Buddha identifies mindfulness as "always useful”.

Investigation, energy & joy are considered 'activating'; and relaxation, concentration & equanimity are considered 'calming'. Therefore, when one's mind is sluggish or drowsy, one should develop the enlightenment factors of investigation, energy and joy; and, when one's mind is excited or restless, one should develop the enlightenment factors of tranquility, concentration and equanimity.

The factors also act as an indicator distinguishing between lazy inactivity and the relaxed concentration of absorption because wholesome states of mind will increase when these seven factors are present, while unwholesome states will be sure to wane.

Originally published on Buddhist Travellers in 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment